51st Foundation day of three Indian states

51st Foundation day of three Indian states

The Statehood Day of Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura, is being celebrated today (i.e. January 21). Today India celebrating the 51st foundation year for the three states which completed statehood under the North Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act of 1971.

Manipur and Tripura had been princely states and were absorbed into India in October 1949 while Meghalaya was part of Assam after Independence.

Glimpse of attaining Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya statehood:

At the time of Independence, the Northeast dwelt of the plains of the old Assam province, the mountainous regions and the North East Frontier Tracts (NEFT) of the Northeast Frontier Province.

The merger of the princely states of Manipur and Tripura with India after independence was happened in 1949.

At that time the states were granted the status of Union territories.

Under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India, Meghalaya was established an autonomous state in Assam through the Assam (Meghalaya) Reorganization Act, of 1969.

In 1972, finally Tripura, Meghalaya and Manipur were given full statehood by the North Eastern Reorganization Act, 1972.


Then prime minister of India Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru had acquired a policy to preserve and protect the culture of the tribal people in Meghalaya.

The region had been given special protection in the Indian Constitution along with other tribal areas with a great deal of autonomy.

In 1970, Meghalaya turned an autonomous state under Assam and later it accomplished full statehood on January 21, 1972.


The UT of Manipur went to the state of Manipur, containing territories that before that day belonged to the Union Territory of Manipur as per the 1971 Act.


Tripura had been already an independent administrative unit under the maharajas of the Manikya dynasty even during the British rule in India.

With the persistent efforts and struggle of Tripura’s people took full statehood on January 21, 1972, under the 1971 Act and its democratic set-up was further extended to the village level in 1978 with local body elections.

Question & Answer:

Q1. Give the name of three Indian states which celebrates their statehood day on 21st January.

Ans. Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura

Q2. Which are the capital cities of Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura?

Ans. Manipur- Imphal, Meghalaya- Shillong, Tripura- Agartala

Q3. Under which schedule of Constitution of India, Meghalaya was established an autonomous state?

Ans. Sixth

Click to Buy Bank MahaCombo Package

Download Online Mock Test Mobile APP



Leave a Reply