All about T20 World Cup 2022

All about T20 World Cup 2022

England beats Pakistan and won the T20 World Cup 2022 in the final match at Melbourne Cricket Ground on yesterday (i.e.13 November).  India was already out of the race in knockout stage against the team of England at the Adelaide Oval ground in Adelaide, Australia.

Background of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the international championship of Twenty20. It was earlier known as ICC world Twenty20 when it started in 2007.

The First edition of T20 World Cup was organized in South Africa in 2007 where India was the champion of first T20 world cup after beating Pakistan in the final match at Johannesburg, South Africa.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:

Hosted by: Australia

Final match venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Australia.

Champions:  England (2nd title)

Runners-up:  Pakistan

England team captain: Jos Buttler

Pakistan team captain: Babar Azam

Player of the series: Sam Curran (England)

Most runs: Virat Kohli (296 runs)

Most wickets: Wanindu Hasaranga [15] (Sri Lanka).


Postponed T20 championships:

Originally, the tournament had been organized in 2020 but the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the tournament had been postponed in July 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In August 2020, the ICC announced that Australia would host the rearranged tournament in 2022.

Indian Cricketer Virat Kohli topped run table:

Indian star player Virat Kohli is the first player to end two ICC T20 World Cup campaigns as the leading run-scorer in the tournament.

He completed the 2022 edition of the tournament with 296 runs in six matches at an average of 98.66. Kohli has scored four half-centuries in the tournament with his best being 82 not out in a classic match against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Virat Kohli is at the leading run-scorer across all T20 World Cups after this tournament.

In short of ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP

First edition: 2007 (South Africa)

Latest edition: 2022 (Australia)

Number of team: 16 (2022)

Next edition 2024: West Indies & United States

Current champion:  England

Most successful: England (2010, 2022) & West Indies (2012, 2016)

Question & Answer:

Q1. Which edition of T20 World Cup 2022 has been concluded recently?

Ans. 8th

Q2. At which nation the T20 World Cup 2022 was organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC)?

Ans. Australia

Q3. Which country’s team has won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022?

Ans. England (beat Pakistan)


Click to Buy Bank MahaCombo Package

Download Online Mock Test Mobile APP





Leave a Reply