G20 Summit 2019

g20 Summit 2019

All News About G20 Summit


The G20 Summit is formally known as the “Summit on Financial Markets and the World Economy”. As the “premier forum for international economic cooperation” (agreed by leaders at the Pittsburgh Summit in September 2009), representing more than 80% of the global GDP, the G20 has made continuous efforts toward achieving robust global economic growth. As globalization progresses and various issues become more intricately intertwined, the recent G20 summits have focused not only on macro economy and trade, but also on a wide range of global issues which have an immense impact on the global economy, such as development, climate change and energy, health, counter-terrorism, as well as migration and refugees. The G20 has sought to realize an inclusive and sustainable world through its contributions towards resolving these global issues.

The host country of the G20 summit leads the group over the course of one year from December through the following November as the G20 presidency. The G20 presidency also organizes relevant ministerial and working group meetings.

G20 Member List

The participants are leaders from 19 countries and the Europian Union (EU). The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Republic of South Africa, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America. In addition, leaders of invited guest countries and representatives of invited guest international organizations participate in the summit along with leaders from the G20 members.


After the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997-1998, it was acknowledged that the participation of major emerging market countries is needed on discussions on the international financial system, and G7 finance ministers agreed to establish the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meeting in 1999.

The G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meetings were centered on major economic and monetary policy issues amongst major countries in the global financial system and aimed at promoting cooperation toward achieving stable and sustainable global economic growth for the benefit of all countries. The participating members in the meetings were the same as the current G20 members.

In November 2008, the inaugural G20 Summit was held in Washington, D.C. in response to the global financial crisis that occurred in the wake of the collapse of the Lehman Brothers. The G20 Meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors was upgraded to the head of state level, as a forum for leaders from major developed and emerging market countries. In September 2009, the third summit was held in Pittsburgh where the leaders designated the G20 as the “premier forum for international economic cooperation.” From thereon, the summit meetings were held semiannually until 2010 and annually from 2011 onwards.

About G20 2019

The 2019 G20 Osaka summit was the fourteenth meeting of the G20, a forum of 19 countries and the EU that together represent most of the world economy. It was held on 28–29 June 2019 at the International Exhibition Center in Osaka.

It was the first G20 summit to be hosted by Japan.

The G20 Summit 2019, June 28–29, 2019 discussed eight themes to Ensure Global Sustainable Development.

The eight themes are “Global Economy”, “Trade and Investment”, “Innovation”, “Environment and Energy”, “Employment”, “Women’s empowerment”, “Development” and “Health”.

Participating leaders G20 2019

1)Argentina Mauricio Macri, President             

2) Australia  Scott Morrison, Prime Minister

3) Brazil Jair Bolsonaro, President                   

4) Canada Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister

5) China Xi Jinping, President                             

6) France Emmanuel Macron, President

7) Germany Angela Merkel, Chancellor       

 8)  India Narendra Modi, Prime Minister

9) Indonesia  Joko Widodo, President            

10)  Italy   Giuseppe Conte, Prime Minister

11)  MexicoMarcelo Ebrard, Secretary of Foreign Affairs

12)  RussiaVladimir Putin, President

13) Saudi Arabia Mohammad bin Salman, Crown Prince

14) South Africa Cyril Ramaphosa, President

15) South Korea Moon Jae-in, President        

16) Japan Shinzō Abe, Prime Minister (host)

17) Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdoğan,

18)  President United Kingdom Theresa May, Prime Ministe

19) United States Donald Trump, President

20) European Union Donald Tusk, President of the European Council

 G20 Summit 2019 Invited guests

1)Chile Sebastián Piñera, President, Chairperson of the APEC

2)Egypt Abdel Fattah el-Sisi, President, Chairperson of the African Union

3)Netherlands Mark Rutte, Prime Minister

4)Senegal  Macky Sall, President, Chairperson of the NEPAD

5)Singapore Lee Hsien Loong, Prime Minister Guest invitee

6)Spain Pedro Sánchez, Prime Minister Permanent guest invitee

7) Thailand Prayut Chan-o-cha, Prime Minister, Chairperson of the ASEAN

8)Vietnam Nguyễn Xuân Phúc, Prime Minister  Guest invitee

International organizations guests

1)Asian Development Bank Takehiko Nakao, President

2) Financial Stability Board Randal Quarles, President

3) International Monetary Fund Christine Lagarde, President

4) International Labour Organization Guy Ryder, Director-General

5) Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development José Ángel Gurría, Secretary-General

6) United Nations António Guterres, Secretary-General

7) World Bank David Malpass, President

8) World Health Organization Tedros Adhanom, Director-General

9) World Trade Organization Roberto Azevêdo, Director-General

List of G20 Summit

1st———————————————————–   14–15 November 2008    (Unite States                                                                                      Washington, D.C.)

2nd———————————————————-   2 April 2009 (United Kingdom)                        

3rd———————————————————-    24–25 Sep 2009 (United States)

4th———————————————————-    26–27 June 2010  (Canada)     

5th———————————————————-    11–12 November 2010 ( South Korea)

6th———————————————————     3–4 November 2011(France)                           

7th———————————————————–   18–19 June 2012  (Mexico)     

8th———————————————————-    5–6 September 2013(Russia)   

9th———————————————————-    15–16 November 2014 (Australia)     

10th——————————————————–    15–16 November 2015 (Turkey )

11th——————————————————–    4–5 September 2016 (China)    

12th———————————————————   7–8 July 2017 (Germany)

13th——————————————————-      30 Nov – 1 Dec 2018 (Argentina )

14th——————————————————–    28–29 June 2019  (Japan)         

15th——————————————————–    21–22 Nov2020    (Saudi Arabia)        

16th——————————————————-      TBD 2021   (Italy)                      

17th—————————————————–         TBD 2022   (India, New Delhi)

हिंदी में पढ़ें

Read More Article Click here


Leave a Reply