Indian government announced Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards

Indian government announced Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards

Government of India has selected 27 Indians living overseas for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (PBSA) for their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad.

The recipients of awards have been chosen by the jury which constitutes Vice-President Jagdeep Dhankhar as its chairman and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar as its Vice-Chair, among other distinguished dignitaries from different fields.

The awards will be given to the recipients by President Droupadi Murmu during the 17th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards.

Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas 2023:

As Indore, Madhya Pradesh is the host venue for 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas; the 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awards will be scheduled to be held from 8-10 January in Indore, Madhya Pradesh.

The award is the highest honour conferred upon Indians living abroad, including Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) or organizations/institutions established and run by them.

Theme of 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas:

As per the Ministry of External Affairs, the theme for Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2023 is “Diaspora: Reliable Partners for India’s Progress in Amrit Kaal”.

It is the theme which highlights the importance of the Indian diaspora in contributing to India’s progress.

About the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awards:

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman (Overseas Indian Honour/Award) is the highest Indian award for Non-resident Indian and Overseas Citizen of India or an organisation or institution established and run by Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin.

The award is instituted by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs, Government of India in conjunction with the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (Non-Resident Indian Day), to honour exceptional and meritorious contribution in their chosen field/profession.

The award is handed over by the President of India.

The Government of India has increased the number of awardees two times for each year to 30 after a decision to grant the award once every two years.

Areas/field to be eligible for awards:

  • Contribution in the field of social and humanitarian in India or abroad
  • Helping abroad and in India about better understanding of India
  • Support to India’s causes and concerns in a tangible way
  • Building closer links between India, the overseas Indian community and their country of residence
  • Welfare activities for the local Indian community
  • Philanthropic and charitable work
  • Using eminent skills that enhanced India’s prestige in that country (for non-professional workers)

Question & Answer:

Q1. Who conferred the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards to the recipients?

Ans. President of India

Q2. Where the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards will be given to the all recipients?

Ans. Indore, Madhya Pradesh

Q3. What is the theme of 17th edition of Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas?

Ans. Diaspora: Reliable Partners for India’s Progress in Amrit Kaal

Click to Buy Bank MahaCombo Package

Download Online Mock Test Mobile APP



Leave a Reply