Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019: All you need to know about Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ramon Magsaysay Award

The Ramon Magsaysay is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay’s example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society. The prize was established in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government. The award is internationally-recognized as the Nobel Prize counterpart of Asia and is the highest award given to Asian individuals and organizations (Also Called Asia Nobel Prize). Ramon Magsaysay’s Award Money USD 30,000.


It is named after Ramon Magsaysay, the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after World War II. The prize was established in April 1957. The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation gives the prize to Asian individuals achieving excellence in their respective fields. The awards were given in six categories,

i)Government Service

ii)Public Service

iii)Community Leadership

iv)Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts

v)Peace and International Understanding

vi)Emergent Leadership

 2019 Ramon Magsaysay award winners

1)Ravish Kumar (Indian journalist): Ravish Kumar has won the honour for his news show, Prime Time, which “deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people”.

2) Ko Swe (Myanmar’s  journalist): Swe Win to receive the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award for Emergent Leadership,” the foundation wrote, “the board of trustees recognizes his undaunted commitment to practice independent, ethical, and socially engaged journalism in Myanmar; his incorruptible sense of justice and unflinching pursuit of the truth in crucial but under-reported issues; and his resolute insistence that it is in the quality and force of media’s truth-telling that we can convincingly protect human rights in the world.”

3) Angkhana Neelapajit( Thailand’s human rights activist): Mrs Angkhana founded the Justice for Peace Foundation in 2006. The network has played a key role in documenting the human rights situation in southern Thailand.

4) Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab (Philippines’ musician): Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab to receive the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award, the board of trustees recognizes his compositions and performances that have defined and inspired Filipino popular music across generations; his indomitable, undeterred confidence to selflessly seek, mentor and promote young Filipino musical genius for the global stage; and his showing us all that music can indeed instil pride and joy, and unify people across the many barriers that divide them”, read the artist’s citation.

5) Kim Jong-Ki (South Korea’s activist working with violence and mental health issues in youth): Kim’s Foundation for Preventing Youth Violence has carried out wide-ranging anti-bullying campaigns, run a hotline that now takes up to 50 calls a day, introduced counselling and mediation, and lobbied the government for new policy and laws.

List of Indian Recipients of Ramon Magsaysay Award


Year Awarded


Vinobha Bhave 1958 Community Leadership
Chintaman Deshmukh 1959 Government Services
Amitabha Chowdhury 1961 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Mother Teresa 1962 Peace and International Understanding
Dara Khurody 1963 Community Leadership
Verghese  Kurien 1963 Community Leadership
Tribhuvandas Patel 1963 Community Leadership
Welthy Fisher 1964 Peace and International Understanding
Jayaprakash Narayan 1965 Public Service
Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay 1966 Community Leadership
Satyajit Ray 1967 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Moncompu Sambasivan Swaminathan 1971 Community Leadership
M.S. Subbalakshmi 1974 Public Service
Boobli George Verghese 1975 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Henning Holck-Larsen 1976 Peace and International Understanding
Ela Ramesh Bhatt 1977 Community Leadership
Mabelle Arole 1979 Community Leadership
Rajanikant Arole 1979 Community Leadership
Gour Kishore Gosh 1981 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Pramod Karan Sethi 1981 Community Leadership
Chandi Prasad Bhatt 1982 Community Leadership
Manibhai Desai 1982 Public Service
Arun Shourie 1982 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Rasipuram Lakshman 1984 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Muralidhar Amte 1985 Public Service
Lakshmi Chand Jain 1989 Public Service
K.V. Subbanna 1991 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Ravi Shankar 1992 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Banoo Jehangir Coyaji 1993 Public Service
Kiran Bedi 1994 Government Services
Pandurang Athavale 1996 Community leadership
Tirunellai Seshan 1996 Government Services
Maheshweta Devi 1997 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Jockin Arputham 2000 Peace and International Understanding
Aruna Roy 2000 Community Leadership
Rajendra Singh 2001 Community Leadership
Sandeep Pandey 2002 Emergent Leadership
James Michael Lyngdoh 2003 Government Services
Shantha Sinha 2003 Government Services
Lakshminarayan Ramdas 2004 Peace and International Understanding
V. Shantha 2005 Public Service
Arvind Kejriwal 2006 Emergent Leadership
Palagummi Sainath 2007 Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Mandakini Amte 2008 Community Leadership
Deep Joshi 2009 Community Leadership
Neelima Mishra 2011 Emergent Leadership
Harish Hande 2011 Community Leadership
Kulandei Francis 2012 Emergent Leadership
Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi 2015 Emergent Leadership
Bezwada Wilson,

Thodur Madabusi Krishna

       2016 Human rights activist,

Carnatic music

Bharat Vatwani,

Sonam Wangchuk


Restoring health and dignity to troubled lives

Education for community progress

Wake up with determination. Go to bed with satisfaction

Best of luck for your Future

Thanks & Regards

Team AB

हिंदी में पढ़ें


Leave a Reply