Historic day for Assam and Meghalaya

Historic day for Assam and Meghalaya

Team Ambitiousbaba are here with a Current Affairs Special Series. In this series, candidates will be introduced to current affairs topics daily, which will not only improve their general awareness but also will ensure that the candidates do not lack in any current affairs topic. Today’s Current Affairs topic is “Historic day for Assam and Meghalaya”

In the presence of Home Minister Amit Shah in New Delhi, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Meghalaya’s chief minister Conrad K. Sangma has signed “historic” agreement for a resolution in six disputed sectors that were adopted for resolution in the first phase.

Assam and Meghalaya have partially settled a 50-year-old border dispute in six of the 12 sectors along their 885-km boundary.

Agreement on 6 of 12 disputed sectors:

The agreement was established on a draft resolution signed between the Assam & Meghalaya on January 29.

Yester day (i.e.29 march) the Union Home Minister, Amit Shah said that during the past three years, the Government had agreed on several agreements for ending extremism and committed for “lasting peace” in the Northeast.

Six disputed areas:

The six disputed sectors:

From Assam: Tarabari, Gizang, Hahim, Boklapara, Khanapara-Pillangkata and Ratacherra under the Kamrup, Kamrup (Metro) and Cachar districts.

From Meghalaya: West Khasi Hills, Ri-Bhoi and East Jaintia Hills districts.

Past time of disputed border:

During British rule, Assam was considered in today’s Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya, besides Mizoram, which became separate states after it.

July 2021, a sharp escalation of the boundary dispute between Assam and Mizoram were experienced in which at least five Assam Police personnel were killed in wild clashes at a contended border point where tensions had been boiling.

Resolution on disputed border has done in a very short span of time in which six out of 12 disputes have been resolved between Assam and Meghalaya. At present about 70 per cent of the border between the two states has been disputed-free.


Capital: Dispur

CM: Himanta Biswa Sarma

Governor: Prof. Jagdish Mukhi


Capital: Shillong

CM: Conrad Kongkal Sangma

Governor: Satya Pal Malik

Question & Answer:

Q1. Between which two states long disputed border dispute has been resolved recently?

Ans. Assam and Meghalaya

Q2. In presence of whose, two chief ministers of the states of Assam and Meghalaya signed ‘Peace’ agreement?

Ans. Union Home Minister Amit Shah

Q3. How many disputed sector has been included in recent agreement?

Ans. 6

Telegram GroupJoin


Best Online test series for Bank exams 2022

2022 Preparation Kit PDF

Most important PDF’s for Bank, SSC, Railway and Other Government Exam : Download PDF Now

AATMA-NIRBHAR Series- Static GK/Awareness Practice Ebook PDF Get PDF here
The Banking Awareness 500 MCQs E-book| Bilingual (Hindi + English) Get PDF here
AATMA-NIRBHAR Series- Banking Awareness Practice Ebook PDF Get PDF here
Computer Awareness Capsule 2.O Get PDF here
AATMA-NIRBHAR Series Quantitative Aptitude Topic-Wise PDF 2020 Get PDF here
Memory Based Puzzle E-book | 2016-19 Exams Covered Get PDF here
Caselet Data Interpretation 200 Questions Get PDF here
Puzzle & Seating Arrangement E-Book for BANK PO MAINS (Vol-1) Get PDF here

Leave a Reply