National Sports Day: 29 August

In this article we discuss important points on National Sports Day

National Sports Day

India celebrates the National Sports Day or Rashtriya Khel Divas on August 29 every year to tribute to the legendary hockey player Major Dhyan Chand.

All about National Sports Day:

The India celebrated National Sports Day or Rashtriya Khel Divas for the first time in 2012.

The primary motto to celebrate the Rashtriya Khel Diwas or National Sports Day is to promote enthusiasm about the importance of sports and being physically active in the daily life of all the citizens: older or younger.

The National Sports Day 2022 made us realize that through playing sports we can head towards a life, fitter, healthier and financially more secure.

Legendary Dhyan Chand:

Born: 29 August, 1905

Nickname: The Wizard

Award: Padma Bhusan (1956)

Major Dhyan Chand was born in Prayagraj and his full name was Dhyan Singh.

The nickname ‘Chand’ got lodged to his name as he used to practise all night in the moonlight that is called Chand in Hindi.

Dhyan Chand is regarded to be the greatest hockey player ever to live on this planet.

He scored 570 goals in his career ranging from 1926 to 1949 which reference to his autobiography ‘Goals’.

His most famous and so far unparalleled achievement is to lead Indian National Hockey Team to win three consecutive Olympic gold medals in the years 1928, 1932 and 1936.

He died after breathing his last on December 3, 1979, in Delhi having slipped into a coma.

How India celebrates National Sports Day?

The nation honors the sports players on this day to celebrate birth anniversary of Major Dhyan Chand.

The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, and Dhyan Chand Awards have been presented by the president of India on this occasion.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award:

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is the highest sporting honour of our nation.

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports is awarded a medallion, a certificate, and cash prize of ₹25 lakh annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to honour sports persons for their “spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years” at the international level.

It has instituted in 1991 as the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

But in 2021 the name of this award has been changed to Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Awardees 2021:

Renowned javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra

Wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya

Boxer Lovlina Borgohain

Hockey Goalkeeper P. R. Sreejesh

Question & Answer:

Q1. On whose birth anniversary India celebrates National Sports Day on 29th August?

Ans. Major Dhyan Chand (Indian Hockey player)

Q2. Which Indian players have been awarded with the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2021?

Ans. Neeraj Chopra, Ravi Kumar Dahiya, Lovlina Borgohain and P.R.Sreejesh

Q3. In which legendary hockey player Major Dhyan Chand conferred with India’s third highest civilian award ‘Padma Bhusan’?

Ans. 1956

Click to Buy Bank MahaCombo Package

Download Online Mock Test Mobile APP


Leave a Reply