National Sports Awards 2021

National Sports Awards 2021

Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2021. A special function will be organized at a Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan on 13th November 2021. The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India in this function. National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.

Background of National Sports Awards:

There are six major awards given under the National Sports Awards which are as follows:

  1. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ is given for the spectacular and greatest performance within the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of previous four years.
  2. Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games’ is given permanently performance over a period of previous four years and showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
  3. Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games’ is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.
  4. Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games’ is given to honor sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and still contribute to promotion of sports event after their retirement.
  5. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ is given to corporate entities (both privately and public sector), sports control boards, NGOs including sports bodies at the State and National level who have played a clear role within the area of sports promotion and development.
  6. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

Awards for 2021:

Selection committee which is headed by retired Supreme Court justice Mukundakam Sharma, has selected sports players for National Awards from large number of nominations.


Awardees of Major Dhyan Chand KhelRatna:

No. Sport person Field
1 Neeraj Chopra Athletics
2 Ravi Kumar Wrestling
3 LovlinaBorgohain Boxing
4 SumitAntil Para Athletics
5 Sunil Chhetri Football
6 Mithali Raj Cricket
7 Manpreet Singh Hockey
8 PramodBhagat Para Badminton
9 AvaniLekhara Para Shooting
10 Sreejesh P.R Hockey
11 Krishna Nagar Para Badminton
12 Manish Narwal Para Shooting

Awardees of Arjuna Awards:

Arpinder Singh (Athletics), Simranjit Kaur (Boxing), Shikhar Dhawan (Cricket), CA Bhavani Devi (Fencing), Monika (Hockey), Vandana Katariya (Hockey), Sandeep Narwal (Kabaddi), Himani Uttam Parab (Mallakhamb), Abhishek Verma (Shooting), Ankita Raina (Tennis), Deepak Punia (Wrestling), Dilpreet Singh (Hockey), Harman Preet Singh (Hockey), Rupinder Pal Singh (Hockey), Surender Kumar (Hockey), Amit Rohidas (Hockey), Birendra Lakra (Hockey), Sumit (Hockey), Nilakanta Sharma (Hockey), Hardik Singh (Hockey), Vivek Sagar Prasad (Hockey), Gurjant Singh (Hockey), Mandeep Singh (Hockey), Shamsher Singh (Hockey), Lalit Kumar Upadhyay (Hockey), Varun Kumar (Hockey), Simranjeet Singh (Hockey), Yogesh Kathuniya (Para Athletics) Nishad Kumar (Para Athletics), Praveen Kumar(Para Athletics), Suhash Yathiraj (Para Badminton) Singhraj Adhana (Para Shooting), Bhavina Patel (Para Table Tennis), Harvinder Singh (Para Archery) and Sharad Kumar (Para Athletics).


Dronacharya Awardees:

Life-time Category Regular Category
Name of Coach & field Name of Coach & field
T. P. Ouseph (Athletics) Subramanian Raman (Table Tennis)
SarkarTalwar (Cricket) Jai PrakashNautiyal (Para Shooting)
Sarpal Singh (Hockey) Radhakrishnan Nair P (Athletics)
Ashan Kumar (Kabaddi) PritamSiwach(Hockey)
Tapan Kumar Panigrahi (Swimming) SandhyaGurung (Boxing)


Dhyan Chand Awardees:

AbhijeetKunte (Chess), Sajjan Singh (Wrestling), Lekha K.C. (Boxing), Davinder Singh Garcha (Hockey) Vikas Kumar (Kabaddi)

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2021:

Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent – ManavRachna Educational Institution

Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility – Indian Oil Corporation Limited

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2021:

Punjab University – Chandigarh


Question & Answer:

Q1. Who presents National sports awards?

Ans. President of India

Q2. Which ministry awarded annually National Sports awards?

Ans. Ministry of Youth affairs and sports

Q3. How many sports personality will be awarded with Khel Ratna awards 2021?

Ans. 12 Sports persons

Also Read: Grammy Awards 2021: Full winners list

67th National Film Awards 2021: Full Winners List


Yearly Subscription for Current Affairs (Feb 2021 – Feb 2022) Mock Tests

2021 Preparation Kit PDF

Most important PDF’s for Bank, SSC, Railway and Other Government Exam : Download PDF Now

The Banking Awareness 500 MCQs E-book| Bilingual (Hindi + English) Get PDF here
AATMA-NIRBHAR Series- Banking Awareness Practice Ebook PDF Get PDF here
Computer Awareness Capsule 2.O Get PDF here
AATMA-NIRBHAR Series Quantitative Aptitude Topic-Wise PDF 2020 Get PDF here
AATMA-NIRBHAR Series- Static  Awareness Practice Ebook PDF Click Here
Memory Based Puzzle E-book | 2016-19 Exams Covered Get PDF here
Caselet Data Interpretation 200 Questions Get PDF here
Puzzle & Seating Arrangement E-Book for BANK PO MAINS (Vol-1) Get PDF here

Leave a Reply